Lorain – Tickets – Mississippi Studios – Portland, OR – July 11th, 2018


A $5 Bill with the PDX purveyors of hazy, groove-based folk music rooted in vivid lyricism


Notel, Laura Palmer's Death Parade

Wed, July 11, 2018

Doors: 8:00 pm / Show: 9:00 pm


This event is 21 and over

Mostly Standing / Limited Balcony Seats 

Lorain is a Portland-based band that making hazy, groove-based folk music rooted in vivid lyricism. Their debut album, Through Frames will be released on September 25th, 2018. The album was produced by Zak Kimball (Haley Heynderickx, Vikesh Kapoor). The thematic meat of the record was written in the winter of 2017, during a short period of forced isolation in Mosier, Oregon. The album examines the specific strain of loneliness one encounters in big cities. Inspired in part by the work of artists like Edward Hopper and Olivia Laing’s book, Lonely City—Through Frames is a meditation on the duality of city life and its two faces of loneliness.
Notel is a new collaboration between Portland musicians Emily Kingan (Lovers), Lorna Dune (JD Samson, Victoire), Peter Condra (Magic Mouth), and Becky Miller (EMA touring, Friends of Noise). Inspired by 70's soundtrack scores and abstract composers, David Axelrod and Alice Coltrane, their surreal instrumentals evoke vivid narratives and would-be film moments without lyrics or references.

Notel's music is "colorfully eerie" with a "nostalgic nod that will leave you pining in the dust when it's all over." - Portland Mercury

In 2017 they released two teasers from their full length album in progress. "Sun Reservoir", which debuted on She Shreds Magazine, is as unearthly as it is warm; equal parts Cocteau Twins and Ennio Morricone. Their second single "Where There's Smoke" features multiple dynamic shifts reflecting the year in which it was written, recorded and produced. What starts as an eerie premonition during the 2016 presidential elections gives way to fallout and chaos with the election results, and ends in flames during the Eagle Creek Fire of 2017. The song's storyline is featured against an abstract animated music video by Chilean artist Juan Saez, which cycles through scenes of distorted red, white, and blue, before erupting in pixelated orange flames.

Notel will be sharing a third track this summer, "Stranger Wave", which is a downtempo and sultry musical homage to the Twin Peaks soundtrack by Angelo Badalamenti.
Laura Palmer's Death Parade
Laura Palmer's Death Parade
Laura Palmer’s Death Parade is songwriter/guitarist Laura Hopkins, bassist Frederick Ernest, drummer Benjamin Johnson, and synth player Eirinn Gragson. January 14th was the release date to their first full length album, “Among Us All”. Recorded, mixed, and mastered at Torch Toucher Recordings by Eric Crespo, the album sounds like the forgotten dreams and collective wails of lost lovers. Laura swoons with haunting vocals and twinkling guitars, with her band holding down the sway. "Among Us All" is available on Apple Music, Spotify and Bandcamp.